It’s Alive!

Yep, Tigger’s Digger is finally alive! With considerable help from Western Fuel Altered President Jim Maroney (who has driven one of those evil, wicked & nasty short wheelbase things over 220mph, we spent a long Saturday taking care of all the little things (and a few big ones) necessary to get it running. Then we lit it off, but something wasn’t right – lots of really LOUD banging in the pipes, hard to start regardless of timing, so we packed it up and waited until the next weekend.

Same thing – even Ray Carter (NHRA Comp Eliminator Champ Dean Carter’s father, who lives two doors away) came over and helped. Finally in desperation and searching for answers, we pulled the top of the Joe Mozeris-donated HEI distributor off and discovered that the little wires from the coil inside were arcing out big time! Ray offered the use of his extra MSD Pro Billet distributor he had at the shop and once we got that in – boom, fired right up. I took a video that I tried to post here, but it says it’s the wrong format. I’ll see if I can get it converted.

Now I’m putting on the diaper and squaring away a few other things. I’ve got to get a new helmet, but other than that, it’s just about ready. (I’ve already gotten a new MSD Pro Billet distributor of my own so I don’t have to borrow Ray’s backup one.) However, Wild Horse Pass Dragstrip (formerly Firebird International Raceway) is back running again and I’ve been announcing there for the past 3 weekends, so no time to work on the car. The NHRA National is next week, and I’m announcing on Friday, but hopefully soon after that we’ll head for the track! Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment